The Avengers is another fictional team of superheroes, appearing in magazines published by Marvel Comics and labeled as “Earth’s Mightiest Heroes”. The team made its debut in The Avengers #1 at Sept. 1963, and was also created by Stan Lee and the artist Jack Kirby. The series was following the trend of superhero teams after the success of DC Comics’ Justice League. Actually The Avengers could be viewed as the Marvel version of Justice League, which also primarily using existing characters in order to created the team.
The team originally consisted of Iron Man, Ant-Man, Wasp, Thor, and the Hulk. Another major member is Captain America who was trapped in ice and discovered by the team. He joined the group when they revived him and eventually becoming field leader. The team has featured humans, mutants, robots, gods, aliens, supernatural beings, and even former villains. The most major enemy of Avengers is Captain America’s wartime enemy Baron Zemo, who forms the Masters of Evil as anti-hero team and Kang the Conqueror, Wonder Man, and Count Nefaria. In 1970 the adventures increased in scope as the team cross into an alternate dimension to battle the Squadron Supreme and fight in the Kree-Skrull War, an epic battle between the alien Kree and Skrull races and guest starring the Kree hero Captain Marvel.
In 2005 a new Avengers team briefly formed as the result of a massive jailbreak at The Raft prison facility. This New Avengers include Iron Man, Captain America, Luke Cage, Wolverine, Ronin, Spider-Man, Spider-Woman, and Sentry.
This initial series, published every two months through issue #6 during 1964 and monthly later from issue #402 1996. An animated television series, The Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, premiered on October 2010 and even a film would be released during May 2012.